‘Bermudian-only’ jobs

As an appendix to my earlier post on finding a job in Bermuda, one thing I didn’t go into detail on was the list of restricted and closed job categories that non-Bermudians are not eligible to apply for.

The list of ‘closed’ jobs is as follows:

  • Airline ground agent
  • Floor supervisor (making sure the floors don’t get up to mischief?)
  • Labourer, general
  • Office receptionist
  • Painter
  • Salesperson
  • Taxi driver
  • Wall paper technician (my personal favorite for its randomness and lack of opportunity – I have only seen one room that was wallpapered, in a reinsurance office, that’s it!)
Kim Wilson

Minster Wilson

However, the new Minister is charge of immigration issues, Minister for Economy, Trade and Industry, Kim Wilson (former Attorney General under Ewart Brown), is reviewing this list of closed jobs. Already proving to be a welcome departure from her dogmatic predecessor, Colonel Burch.

So, non-Bermudian wallpaper technicians, stand by your beds. Bermuda might need you to wallpaper some reinsurance boardrooms.

View full details on this page of the immigration website.

2 Comments

Filed under Before you arrive

2 responses to “‘Bermudian-only’ jobs

  1. Good Evening,

    I just read your blog and it gave me a great perspective of living and working in Bermuda – Thanks for the info! Having said that, ill let you know the primary reason for my email. My wife is looking at working as an accountant in Bermuda, and me being a fellow Canadian am interested at finding a teaching job at one of the (few) schools in Bermuda. I am certified for middle/secondary and have my Bachelors of English Literature and a Masters of Teaching. Anyways, i was wondering if you could shed some light on my job search. Do you have any contacts in the school systems? Do you think it would be very difficult for me to find a job?
    Ive searched the web under many different queries, but am finding it difficult to find anything lucrative.

    Please let me know if you have any information and who knows, maybe we will be sipping a pint over there in future.

    Cheers,

    Michael.

    • Hi Michael
      I’m not overly familiar with the process for teachers but I imagine it’s the same as all jobs – newspaper ads – there are teaching jobs held by ex pats and quite a few although thinking about it, most of them are Brits so that could be because they do A levels, GCSES and IB. There are some great schools – search YouTube for Warwick Academy! You could also contact all the Head Teachers (Principals) – you should be able to get a list of schools and head teachers from the government (you would have to call). There are public & private schools – Saltus, Warwick Academy & BHS are (in my opinion) the best schools – I’m not familiar with junior schools really.
      Good luck and let me know if you need any more info. We’ve actually left Bermuda now 😦

Leave a Reply

